The City of Manila is the capital of my beloved Philippines. It was the first chartered city by virtue of the Philippine Commission Act 183 on July 31, 1901. The City gained autonomy with the passage of Republic Act No. 409 or the “Revised Charter of the City of Manila” on June 18, 1949.

The City is closer to my heart because this is where I lived, studied and worked during my college and law school days.

Manila, Manila, I keep coming back to Manila 🙂

Post Office Building at Liwasang Bonifacio/Lawton. Built in 1926 but severely damaged during World War II.  It was subsequently built in 1946.

A side street at Escolta leading to the Quiapo area

SM Clearance Outlet (The first SM Shoemart was built in this location back in 1958)

Islamic Center in Quiapo Manila

Quiapo Church (Minor Basilica of the Black Nazarene)

Manila North Cemetery (tomb of FPJ and Pres. Ramon Magsaysay)